Outdoor Play

The weather is just glorious at the moment, so we have been having lots of fun outdoors!

The kids loved my friends sprinkler, so we made our own. I rigged the hose in to a 2l bottle, and stabbed little holes in. I had to use lots of tape to keep it on, but it was a hoot! My teenage niece and nephew were here too, and they had more fun that the littlies running through it!

20130707-212447.jpg

The car wash is always good for at least half an hours peace! I give them a bowl of soapy water, a couple of sponges, and they clean the cosy coupe.

20130707-212955.jpg

My two are fascinated by ice. So in the water table, I threw a load of ice. They loved how quickly it melted in the heat. I also froze a couple of little toys on bowls of water. It was great watching them try and dig them out, bashing the ice, and warming the ice up to melt.

20130707-213242.jpg

I am not the most artistic person, but I bet if I was, I would make these boats in to mini versions of the QM2. As it was, they were turned in to submarines, so it didn’t matter that they were just a couple of margarine tubs, 2 lolly sticks, and home made flags. But we liked turning them in to passenger ships, seeing how much cargo they could carry before becoming the Titanic.

20130707-213607.jpg

We have not long painted the garden fence, so it’s still pretty waterproof. The kids were desperate to help, but I have heard tell that green creosote is hard to get off 2 year olds faces. So they painted the fence with water and a fence brush. I only had one fence brush, so they alternated between that and a tiny paintbrush. Next week, cutting the lawn with nail clippers.

20130707-213916.jpg

Chalk on the pavement. Needs no introductions, just wait for the rain to help clean it up.

20130707-214220.jpg

This one was not my brightest idea. Roll of paper, bare feet children and tubs of paint. I thought I could make a lovely footprint mural for the wall. What I ended up with was a slight breeze whipping the paper in to a frenzy, pink paint on my sandals and jeans, and having to carry a 3 year old to the kitchen sink. Next time, weight the paper down properly.

20130707-214513.jpg

20130707-214537.jpg

I over complicated this one too. Take one empty 500ml bottle, cut the end off,and secure (clean) sock over it with an elastic band. What I should have done was just dip in bubble solution, and blow. Ta-da the most amazing bubbles. What I actually did was drop food colouring on the sock to make fancy coloured bubbles. Fail. The bubbles barely changed colour, and the colouring dripped all over my toe. I still have 3 blue toenails a week later. Tip – leave the colouring out.

20130707-215027.jpg

20130707-215059.jpg

20130707-215122.jpg

There’s nothing I like more than reusing stuff. I have a corner of the kitchen dedicated to egg boxes and tin foil scraps, waiting for inspiration. I used a couple of 2l milk containers, with the bottoms cut off, and an empty washing up liquid bowl. 2/3 year olds love nothing more than tipping water from or container to another, then back again. And on and on…

20130707-215516.jpg

I have saved the most fun activity for last. WATER BALLOONS! Tricky little beggars to fill, and you only get about 3 minutes of fun. But watching them shriek as they try and soak you is the best fun ever.

20130707-215803.jpg

20130707-215843.jpg

20130707-215904.jpg

Leave a Reply

