Song Bag

We first discovered the song bag at our local Surestart centre. This is one of the few activities that they don’t have free access to, and I find it makes it more exciting when we pull out the song bag!

So, the concept is a bag of toys that each represent a nursery rhyme, preferably an action song. The bag is passed around the group sitting in a circle, and each child takes a turn when it stops on them. We tend to just keep going back and forth, with me taking an occasional turn to break it up.

We sing this song as we pass the bag around:

“Pass the song bag round and round
Round and round,
Round and round,
Pass the song bag round and round,
Where will it stop?”

20130416-211613.jpg

Some of our toys are:

Spider – Incy Wincy Spider
Teapot – I’m a little Teapot
Fish – 1,2,3,4,5, Once I caught a fish alive
Star – Twinkle Twinkle
Rubber Duck – Five little ducks
Wooden Worm – There’s a worm at the bottom of the garden
Wooden Bus – Wheels on the Bus
Frog – Five little speckled frogs

20130416-212209.jpg

Our rabbit has two song choices – Little Peter Rabbit or Sleeping Bunnies

“See the little bunnies sleeping till it’s nearly noon
Come and let us gently wake them with a merry tune
Oh how still, are they ill, wake up soon
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop hop, hop
Hop hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop and STOP! ”

“Little Peter rabbit got a fly upon his nose
Little Peter rabbit got a fly upon his nose
Little Peter rabbit got a fly upon his nose
So he flicked and it flew away buzz buzz
Powder puffs and curly whiskers
Powder puffs and curly whiskers
Powder puffs and curly whiskers
So he flicked and it flew away buzz buzz
Clever clever Peter rabbit
Clever clever Peter rabbit
Clever clever Peter rabbit
So he flicked and it flew away buzz buzz”

20130416-212706.jpg

My absolute favourite is Dingle Dangle Scarecrow, really gets me moving after a 6am start to the day!

“When all the cows were sleeping and the sun had gone to bed
Up jumped the scarecrow and this is what he said!
I’m a dingle, dangle scarecrow with a flippy floppy hat
I can shake my hands like this and shake my feet like that
When all the hens were roosting and the moon behind the cloud
Up jumped the scarecrow and shouted very loud
I’m a dingle, dangle scarecrow with a flippy floppy hat
I can shake my hands like this and shake my feet like that
When the dogs were in the kennels and the doves were in the loft
Up jumped the scarecrow and whispered very soft
I’m a dingle, dangle scarecrow with a flippy floppy hat
I can shake my hands like this and shake my feet like that”

Leave a Reply

